Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Borrowing at YukonU Library

Check how to get a library account, borrowing conditions, fines & fees, and more.
YukonU Students & staff

Access your My Account to renew items or confirm if you owe fines.

YukonU patrons

  • Instructions below are valid beginning September 2020 until further notice.

  • Due to COVID-19 precaution measures, direct access to the physical book collection is restricted to library staff only.

  • If item is not available from YukonU collections, check the Request interlibrary loans page.


Physical books, CDs, or DVDs Laptops and AV materials Course Reserves

1) Search the library catalogue (Discovery).

2) Click on the title of the item you want to borrow; if needed, use the filters available on the left column to refine your search.

3) Scroll down the item description until you see the "Request this item" button (beneath "Check availability"). Click on "Request this item" and then login with your Yukon U credentials.

4) On the request form, select options as applicable. FOR DISTANCE STUDENTS & STUDENTS IN THE COMMUNITIES requesting items from the Innovation Commons: fill in your mailing address in the notes field of the request.

5) Submit your request.

  • Laptops and AV materials are available on a first-come, first-serve basis.
  • Laptops and AV materials cannot be requested online;
  • Students and employees can borrow items directly at the Innovation Commons front desk.
  • Items on reserve are available on a first-come, first-serve basis.
  • Items on reserve cannot be requested online.
  • Students can borrow items on reserve directly at the Innovation Commons front desk.
  • Items on reserve cannot be put on hold for a specific patron.

 

What happens next:

  • For books, DVDs & CDs available at the Innovation Commons: library staff will retrieve the items within 48 hours. Items will be placed on hold and the requester will be notified when item is ready for pickup. Items not picked up within 7 days will be returned to the collection.
  • For books, DVDs & CDs on loan: items will be placed on hold for the requester once they are returned, checked in, and have passed a 3 day quarantine period.
  • Reference collection items can be used in-house only.
  • Items from SOVA: patrons in Whitehorse may request items from the SOVA collection in Dawson City, but expect a delay of 7-14 days due to shipping times. Once available, items can be picked up at the Innovation Commons.
  • Distance students & patrons in the communities: items available in the Innovation Commons collection will be shipped to the mailing address informed in the request.

Borrow AV materials

Laptops for students

Current Yukon University students can borrow a laptop for 7 days, no renewals. A power supply can be provided if student wants to borrow the device for longer than 4 hours. Laptops cannot be requested online.

Terms of use 

By using a Yukon University library account, borrowers agree to be responsible for any items borrowed, including replacement charges for lost or damaged items, and overdue fines that may arise from returning or renewing items after the due date. 

  • Students must have a current library account. 
  • Borrowers can only borrow one laptop at a time. 
  • Seven-day Loan with no renewals. If a student needs a laptop longer than seven days, he or she must return the one they borrowed and check out a different one.  
  • Overdue charges for laptops are  $10/day. No renewal is available.
  • Students must save any personal documents they would like to keep as shown on the page attached to the laptop front cover. 

Laptops will be checked for damage and for any saved personal files. Personal files will be deleted; files on the desktop, trash bin, download folder, and search history will be cleared. Yukon University Library is not responsible or liable for any files lost or cleared.

Library laptops are not intended for long-term use. Students who need access to a computer on a permanent basis are encouraged to use services such as Computer for Schools - See the Academic Support Centre for more details.

How to manage & renew items

Most books can be renewed 2 times, each for an additional 3 weeks. Exceptions are books from the reserve collection and items that have been requested by other patrons.

To renew, use one of the options below:

  • Access your Library Account from the library homepage (see image below). Once you login, you will see a list of items you currently have and an option to renew items. Note: online renewals are not possible if you have reached the 2 renewals limit.
  • Contact us by phone (867.668.8870) or email (library@yukonu.ca)
  • Renew in-person at the Innovation Commons.

Accessing library account

ILL information for other libraries

This information is intended for external libraries (non-YukonU) . 

Loans

We lend most circulating items from our collection and allow for interlibrary loaning of articles. Returnable loans (books, videos, etc.) are for four weeks from the date shipped and we will happily renew for two more times unless a hold has been placed on the item. You are encouraged to verify the availability of items in the Yukon University Library Catalogue

Items NOT available for interlibrary loan:

  •  Items from the "new" collection, usually published within the year
  • Textbooks
  • Items from the reserve collection
  • Reference books
  • Items from the "archival" collection
  • Periodicals

Copies

While we do not lend periodicals, we will provide digital versions of articles. Copies can be sent by by email or by OCLC Article Exchange. 

Courier delivery

We ship by courier with fellow members of the BC ELN Media and academic libraries in Canada.

Charges

We do not charge libraries for interlibrary loans.

For BC libraries, note that an alternative arrangement is in place through our status as a member of the BC Electronic Library Network.

Placing Requests

  • Our preference is for requests to come through Illume and Worldshare ILL, but we will also accept requests by email.  We do not accept requests by telephone.
  • If you are requesting interlibrary loans using email, please include as much information as possible to ensure the speedy delivery of items.
  • Due to the small number of our Library staff, we cannot provide rush service.

Yukon University Library Information

  • YukonU Library code on Illume: YWC
  • OCLC symbol: CN4WZ