LibGuides: Social Work: Home

Start a search here

Recommended Databases

ERIC
Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and these.

ERIC provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
APA PsycArticles

APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycInfo
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
CINAHL
Comprehensive source of full-text for health & allied health journals.

Ethnic Diversity Source
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

Arctic & Antarctic Regions
bibliographic database focused on research in cold regions.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
citation database for indigenous related topics.
Informit Core (formerly Informit Indigenous Collection)
covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. Provides access to specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, ebooks, and grey literature unavailable elsewhere online.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Medline from OVID
Use more Medline search options with the OVID interface. Access articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and other health related fields, on a simple interface.

Browse the stacks

Topic Call number

Social Service.Social Work	HV38 - HV69
Social Sciences.Theories and Research Methodology	H61 - H62.5
Family	HV697- HV700.7
Protection, Assistance and Relief	HV697 - HV4959
Aged	HV1451
People with Disabilities	HV1559 - HV3024
Addictions	HV5720.5- HV5840
Social Work with Delinquents and Criminals	HV7428
Family Law	K670-709
Yukon Territory Law	KEY1 - 599

Start your search

1. Select a topic that meets the requirements of your assignment.

2. Explore information: explore ideas and perspectives and identify potential sources of information.

3. Narrow your topic: identify key points you want to explore and formulate a question or argument around them.

4. Refine your search & evaluate resources: explore information related to your argument and make connections between your ideas and the ideas of others.

5. Use information appropriately: give credit to the original creators of information and strengthen your argument with citations and references.

Learn more about the search process and search strategies with this guide.

Key Terms

Harm reduction

Family policy

Public welfare

Disability

Domestic harm

School counselling

Social policy

Social justice

Traditional Knowledge

Contact the library

Homepage: https://yukonu.ca/library

Phone: 867 668 8870
Email: library@yukonu.ca

Chat with a librarian

Book an appointment

Library Hours - Fall/Winter Hours

Mon-Thu: 8:30am - 9:00pm

Fri: 8:30am-5:00pm

Sat-Sun: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Nora Hehemann

Email Me

Contact:

nhehemann@yukonu.ca

Subjects: Life Sciences, Social Sciences

Other useful guides

Health & Nursing
by Nora Hehemann Last Updated Oct 14, 2025 155 views this year
Sociology
by Nora Hehemann Last Updated Oct 14, 2025 10 views this year

Social Work: Home

University of Regina Access