LibGuides: Health &amp; Nursing: Home

Suggested Subject Terms

Try these terms when searching databases:

Nurses and Nursing

Nursing Assessment

Nursing Diagnosis

Complimentary Therapy

Traditional Knowledge

NCBI MeSH term index
MeSH terms are official words or phrases selected to represent particular biomedical concepts.

Each article in the database has been given specific terms, from a standardized list of subject terms, that describe the content of an article. "MeSH" is the acronym for this master list of standardized Medical Subject Headings. Usually between 10 and 15 MeSH terms are assigned to an article to describe its content.
Using CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings in the new EBSCOhost Interface

Off Campus Access

Off campus access to library resources is provided through EZProxy. Once authenticated, your computer appears as a part of the Yukon University network.

If you are on campus, you will bypass EZProxy and be sent directly to Yukon University library resources.

If you are off campus, you will see an authentication page after you search and access an online resource. Click the button labelled 'STUDENTS & STAFF LOGIN' and use your Yukon University username and password.

What is Evidence-Based Research?

Evidence-based research means that the information used to make decisions about patient care is based on sound research, not opinion. This means searching several sources (published articles in medical journals or in electronic form) for data, results and conclusions of valid, reputable studies.

Evidence-based practice is supported by this research and allows health practitioners in making decisions about the care of individual patients. It means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research.

Databases for Evidence Based Research & Practice

Evidence Based Medicine Reviews This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) articles are a important source of medical information based on actual treatments and methods. This database combines several of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database. Includes reviews from Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and more.

PICO Framework

The PICO Framework is a popular set of criteria to frame a research question in the field of evidence-based medicine.

PICO stands for:

P - Population, patient, or problem: the subject(s) of the investigation

I - Intervention: the treatment, test, or procedures to be applied

C - Comparison or control: the comparison or control according to which the intervention will be assessed

O - Outcome: the results of the intervention

Reference:

Aslam, S., & Emmanuel, P. (2010). Formulating a researchable question: A critical step for facilitating good clinical research. Indian journal of sexually transmitted diseases and AIDS, 31(1), 47–50. https://doi.org/10.4103/0253-7184.69003

How to search

Using MeSH terms in a health database can help to expand or narrow a search. Ovid and EBSCOhost have features which can identify MeSH terms for a search using 'explode' and 'focus' functions.

Check out the how-to guide for EBSCOhost and the video for OVID on how to use these search functions:

Using CINAHL/MeSH Subject Heading on EBSCOhost