LibGuides: Sociology: Home

1. Select a topic that meets the requirements of your assignment.

2. Explore information: explore ideas and perspectives and identify potential sources of information.

3. Narrow your topic: identify key points you want to explore and formulate a question or argument around them.

4. Refine your search & evaluate resources: explore information related to your argument and make connections between your ideas and the ideas of others.

5. Use information appropriately: give credit to the original creators of information and strengthen your argument with citations and references.

Learn more about the search process and search strategies with this guide.

Search start

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text: This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 400,000 records selected from important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology, criminal justice, criminal law and crime, police and policing, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, probation and parole.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database‎ This link opens in a new window
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics

Ethnic Diversity Source
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics. Find statistics and survey results presented in charts and tables. The data provided covers advertisements, buying behavior, or specific industries. Find reports on advertising, purchasing behavior, politics and society, and data on individual sectors of the economy and countries.