LibGuides: FNGA 101: Research articles & secondary sources

What are secondary sources?

Secondary sources describe the characteristics or contents of primary sources. May provide synthesis or analysis about primary sources.

Examples:

Literature review articles in scholarly journals. These articles provide analysis for how a particular topic or perspective was explored by other authors.
Meta-analysis articles
Systematic reviews articles
Annotated bibliographies
Book reviews
Interpretative blog posts
Interpretative news articles

Find articles, books, videos and more with Discovery Search

How to search the library catalogue
Learn how to use the Discovery Search to find articles, books, videos, and more.

Find original research & review articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. Provides access to specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, ebooks, and grey literature unavailable elsewhere online.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly This link opens in a new window
This database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.