LibGuides: FNGA 101: Primary sources for Indigineous topics

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are the first-hand account about something. They can also be an original object, artifact, or direct evidence.

Other than original research articles, important primary sources for Indigenous Governance include:

Corporate or institutional records
Original answers to a survey or interview
A story told by an Elder
Archaeological artifacts
Works of art, literature, or music
Historical documents (e.g. manuscripts, letters, maps)

Manuscripts, letters, photographs, maps & other images

Yukon Archives: Yukon Archives is at the Yukon University Whitehorse Ayamdigut campus. Before you visit, email: yukon.archives@yukon.ca or phone: 867-667-8061 to talk to Archive's reference staff and discuss your needs.

Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Points to the Past is a collection of primary sources, made up of digitized historical content – maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, and much more. Available for residents of British Columbia and Yukon.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
The Canadiana Online collection contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. Canadiana Online also includes all content from the closed Early Canadiana Online (ECO) collection, including content from the CIHM microfiche series.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.

Maps
by Nora Hehemann Last Updated Apr 24, 2024 122 views this year

Treaties & agreements

Yukon First Nations

Search the YukonU Library Collection: Books, articles & more

How to search the library catalogue
Learn how to use the Discovery Search to find articles, books, videos, and more.

Find original research & review articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. Provides access to specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, ebooks, and grey literature unavailable elsewhere online.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly This link opens in a new window
This database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.

Government resources

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada