LibGuides: New Instructor Orientation: Resources (books, articles, streaming videos)

What are my options for providing access to course materials for students?

There are a lot of choices. The best option depends on factors such as the type and cost of the material. YukonU Library Services licensing agreements and copyright are factors for using electronic or print copies of materials.

Material	Options	Considerations
Book	Campus Store	Each student has text Cost to student
	Open Textbooks	Open textbooks are free online, cover a broad range of subjects, are immediately available instructors are empowered to edit, revise, remix; contact library@yukonu.ca for an Adobe license to edit a textbook Depending on platform/source not all textbooks adhere to accessibility standards
	Library-licensed eBooks	Libraries cannot license e-copies of textbooks from many publishers Digital Rights Management restrictions (DRM) on e-books may include: limits on the number of concurrent users; limits on total uses; limits on copying, printing, and downloading Can't find what you need for your course? Contact a librarian or fill out the Course Reserve Request Form
	Library Course Reserves (physical books)	Students share a limited number of copies of a book Fill out the Course Reserve Request Form to get started
Book Chapter	Moodle	Instructors are responsible for copyright/license compliance It is rare for use of more than one chapter of a book to be considered fair use. If additional chapters are needed, please explore other options such as using the book as a textbook, putting it on course reserve. Instructors can request a scan of one book chapter
Library-licensed ejournal article	Moodle	Contact the library regarding copyright and publisher permissions for posting on Moodle.
Print Journal articles	Moodle	Instructors are responsible for copyright compliance Instructors can request a scan of one article per journal issue
Journal article/book chapter from other sources	Moodle	Instructors are responsible for copyright compliance; contact library@yukonu.ca
Media	Streaming media	YukonU Library subscribes to three streaming services If you are developing a class that will incorporate streaming video, visit the Audio Visual Support page for resources; contact library@yukonu.ca for advice on options If you intend to use a feature film (ie Hollywood production), consider the Criterion Collection The library has digitized historically relevant VHS tapes; (link placeholder)
	Course Reserves	Students can borrow external hard drives to watch DVDs held in the Course Reserves
	Moodle	Instructors are responsible for copyright/license compliance regarding Fair Dealing
Instructor generated material	Moodle	Excellent option for syllabi, assignments, sample tests and so on
Student generated material	Moodle	need permission to post material

Streaming video databases

Our streaming databases are fully licensed to be used in your classroom and students can also watch content remotely. Check out our options.

Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window
Criterion on Demand provides online access to feature films that are educationally relevant for Canadian Higher Education Institutions. Most films are available with English and French subtitles.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
Curio.ca gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more.
NFB Campus This link opens in a new window
The NFB collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. It showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
Instructors: additional features such as chapter creation (creating snippets of films), teaching guides, and playlists are available from the NFB Campus platform. Contact library staff for instructions on how to create your NFB Campus account.

Explore databases

Find resources by exploring individual databases. Search by Title, Type, or Subject from the A-Z Database List.