LibGuides: Circumpolar & Northern Studies: Find Articles

What are peer-reviewed articles?
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are studies that are evaluated by experts prior to publication. Experts consider if the article meets certain criteria of originality and quality, recommending revisions that must be made as a condition for publication in an academic journal.
Several of the databases suggested below contain peer-reviewed articles.

Check the Understanding Peer-Review guide for more information.

Start with

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new window
Arctic & Antarctic Regions (AAR) is the world’s largest collection of international polar databases. Over 1.3 million records (most with abstracts or annotations) from 12 databases files provides access to valuable research on cold regions, spanning from 1800 and earlier to the present.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing information on world’s prehistory. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

Dig deeper

Canadian, Arctic and Northern research

Arctic & Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new window Arctic & Antarctic Regions (AAR) is the world’s largest collection of international polar databases. Over 1.3 million records (most with abstracts or annotations) from 12 databases files provides access to valuable research on cold regions, spanning from 1800 and earlier to the present.
Arctic Discovery & Access (formerly ASTIS) This link opens in a new window
ADA (Arctic Discovery & Access) provides access to scientific research publications, research projects derived from license and permit information, K-12 educational resources, virtual exhibits, and the Arctic Institute of North America's online archives and special collections.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly This link opens in a new window This database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
Canadian Research Index‎ This link opens in a new window This database focuses on periodicals covering Canada and Canadian issues in general reference arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.
Open Polar This link opens in a new window Open Polar is the global open access portal for research data and publications on the Arctic and Antarctic.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window Provides detailed scientific information (species accounts) for over 10,000 species of birds around the world. Resource is a compilation of four major ornithological works, bird observation data, and resources from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. Collection contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. Each online species account contains recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.

The Northern and Arctic Studies Portal

ArcticStat This link opens in a new window ArcticStat is a public and independent statistical databank dealing with the countries, regions and populations of the Circumpolar Arctic.

For social & historical aspects

Indigenous studies

Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window Covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. Provides access to specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, ebooks, and grey literature unavailable elsewhere online.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. This database contains more than 141,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window A digital collection of primary sources containing manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, and artwork exploring the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, as well as the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge. ❗Please note: the terms used in this database reflect prejudices and ideas at the point of their creation.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.

Social & historical aspects

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window Points to the Past is a collection of primary sources, made up of digitized historical content – maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, and much more. Available for residents of British Columbia and Yukon.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window The Canadiana Online collection contains 19 million pages (96,000 titles) of digitized historical publications, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921. Canadiana Online also includes all content from the closed Early Canadiana Online (ECO) collection, including content from the CIHM microfiche series.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing information on world’s prehistory. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Statista This link opens in a new window Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics. Find statistics and survey results presented in charts and tables. The data provided covers advertisements, buying behavior, or specific industries. Find reports on advertising, purchasing behavior, politics and society, and data on individual sectors of the economy and countries.

Other relevant sources

Northern Review
an open access, peer-reviewed journal published by Yukon University in Whitehorse, Canada.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, it provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.

Can't find what you want?
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request items from other libraries.