LibGuides: Circumpolar & Northern Studies: Find Books

Ebook databases

ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window The ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection (ACLS HEB) is a collaboration between the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), Michigan Publishing, and the Fulcrum publishing platform. The collection covers online over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Ebsco Ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window Search and view academic ebooks
Needs an internet connection to view books. Full download is not available, but users may opt for downloading individual chapters or page intervals.
Gale e-books This link opens in a new window
Diversity & Ethnic Studies Ebooks This link opens in a new window This collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.

Can't find what you want?
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request items from other libraries.

Topic	Call number
History, Northern Europe, Scandinavia	DL1-1180
Sami (European People)	DL42.L36
Indians of North America—Aleuts, Chukchi, Inuit, Thule	E99.E5-E7
Geography—Polar Regions	G575-890
History—Europe	D-DR+
Geography - Ice.Glaciers.Ice sheets. Sea ice.	GB2401-2598
Indigenous Languages	PM 1-7356
Natural history - Arctic	QH84.1

University of Alberta - The CIHM Monograph Collection A collection of publications dating back to the early 17th century that are about Canada, or written and published by Canadians, scanned from microfiche
Inuit Language Support
Online books in Inuit language.
University of Alberta - Open Access books

Keywords and search tips

Make use of Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords.
Use geographical locations to refine or expand your search. Northern circumpolar regions may include Canada, Finland, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States (Alaska).
Identify related keywords or synonyms and use nested search to combine them. Example: food security AND (first nations OR aboriginal OR indigenous people)
Circumpolar research can encompass many disciplines, for example Environmental Sciences, History, Indigenous Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Food Security, and more. Explore other guides connected to your main topic to find out what other databases and resources may be good for your purposes.