LibGuides: Business Studies & Marketing: Home

Key databases

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Business Cases is a digital collection of business cases, providing faculty, students, and researchers with access to authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Sage curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics. Find statistics and survey results presented in charts and tables. The data provided covers advertisements, buying behavior, or specific industries. Find reports on advertising, purchasing behavior, politics and society, and data on individual sectors of the economy and countries.

Start your search

1. Select a topic that meets the requirements of your assignment.

2. Explore information: explore ideas and perspectives and identify potential sources of information.

3. Narrow your topic: identify key points you want to explore and formulate a question or argument around them.

4. Refine your search & evaluate resources: explore information related to your argument and make connections between your ideas and the ideas of others.

5. Use information appropriately: give credit to the original creators of information and strengthen your argument with citations and references.

Learn more about the search process and search strategies with this guide.

What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are studies that are evaluated by experts prior to publication. Experts consider if the article meets certain criteria of originality and quality, recommending revisions that must be made as a condition for publication in an academic journal.

Check the Understanding Peer-Review guide for more information.

Search Tips

Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords.

Explore specific types of sources and use them as keywords in your search. Case studies, business cases, case reports, business plans, are all good keywords to use if you are searching for materials about a specific type of business.
- Example: business plan AND childcare
Use advanced search in library databases to find information about a specific industry. Databases such as Business Source Complete provide filters that allow you to refine your search to a specific company, product, or type of document.

Use the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) if searching for analysis information about a specific industry or product. Databases such as Business Source Complete support searching by NAICS number.