Explore specific types of sources and use them as keywords in your search. Case studies, business cases, case reports, business plans, are all good keywords to use if you are searching for materials about a specific type of business.
Example: business plan AND childcare
Use advanced search in library databases to find information about a specific industry. Databases such as Business Source Complete provide filters that allow you to refine your search to a specific company, product, or type of document.
Use the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) if searching for analysis information about a specific industry or product. Databases such as Business Source Complete support searching by NAICS number.
Dig deeper with library databases
Popular databases for Business
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.
Business Source UltimateThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
HBP Core CurriculumThis link opens in a new window76 Core Curriculum Readings cover entrepreneurship, finance, accounting, marketing, operations management, organizational behavior and strategy.
HBS Select Case Study CollectionThis link opens in a new window2,000+ Harvard Business School case studies provide immersive real-world scenarios and commentary to help students examine issues related to the dynamics of business.
by Nora Hehemann
Last Updated Aug 14, 2024
214 views this year
HBS Select Case Study CollectionThis link opens in a new window2,000+ Harvard Business School case studies provide immersive real-world scenarios and commentary to help students examine issues related to the dynamics of business.
Sage Business CasesThis link opens in a new windowSage Business Cases is a digital collection of business cases, providing faculty, students, and researchers with access to authoritative cases from over 120 countries. Sage curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Business Source UltimateThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
For Canadian perspectives
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)This link opens in a new windowThis database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index QuarterlyThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
Society & economy
Social Sciences Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Regional Business NewsThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowFind statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics. Find statistics and survey results presented in charts and tables. The data provided covers advertisements, buying behavior, or specific industries. Find reports on advertising, purchasing behavior, politics and society, and data on individual sectors of the economy and countries.
Top journals in Business
According to Scimago Journal Rankings (based on Scopus)
