LibGuides: Film Studies: home

Start your search

1. Select a topic that meets the requirements of your assignment.

2. Explore information: explore ideas and perspectives and identify potential sources of information.

3. Narrow your topic: identify key points you want to explore and formulate a question or argument around them.

4. Refine your search & evaluate resources: explore information related to your argument and make connections between your ideas and the ideas of others.

5. Use information appropriately: give credit to the original creators of information and strengthen your argument with citations and references.

Learn more about the search process and search strategies with this guide.

Finding peer-reviewed articles

What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are studies that are evaluated by experts prior to publication. Experts consider if the article meets certain criteria of originality and quality, recommending revisions that must be made as a condition for publication in an academic journal.

Check the Understanding Peer-Review guide for more information.

database keyword searching

tips for searching using online databases:

Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords.
For keyword searching, use quotations for a phrase search or movie title; use synonyms/related terms separated by OR; and use AND to combine with other keywords.
example: screen AND "expanded cinema"
example: "special effects" AND "Star Wars"
example: "american cinema" AND "gender identity" AND masculinity
example: Hollywood AND "science fiction" AND ("special effects" OR "computer generated imagery")
Use geographic locations, without abbreviations. E.g.: Yukon, Canada, British Columbia (not BC)

recommended resources

Key databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.
Art Index This link opens in a new window
Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.

contact the library

Innovation Commons (Ayamdigut campus)

Phone: 867 668 8870
Email: library@yukonu.ca

SOVA Library (Yukon School of Visual Arts, Dawson City)

Phone: 867-993-6390

Email: info@yukonsova.ca

Chat with a librarian

Book an appointment

Library hours, Ayamdigut Campus (Whitehorse)

Jan 4. until further notice: Mon - Fri: 8:30am - 5:00pm

SOVA Library Hours (Dawson City)

May - August: closed

Film Studies: home