LibGuides: Film Studies: find articles

key databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.
Art Index This link opens in a new window
Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly This link opens in a new window
This database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.

database keyword searching

tips for searching using online databases:

Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords.
For keyword searching, use quotations for a phrase search or movie title; use synonyms/related terms separated by OR; and use AND to combine with other keywords.
example: screen AND "expanded cinema"
example: "special effects" AND "Star Wars"
example: "american cinema" AND "gender identity" AND masculinity
example: Hollywood AND "science fiction" AND ("special effects" OR "computer generated imagery")
Use geographic locations, without abbreviations. E.g.: Yukon, Canada, British Columbia (not BC)

art periodicals that may include content on artists' film & video

available at the Yukon SOVA Library

Artforum International Magazine

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Sept. 2007 to present

Border Crossings

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Aug. 2007 to present

C Magazine

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Winter 2007 to present

Canadian Art

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Summer 2007 to present

open access journals/magazines

Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media
Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal. It offers a dynamic international forum open to the discussion of all aspects of film and screen media history, theory and criticism through multiple research methodologies and perspectives. It cultivates inspiring, cutting-edge research, and seeks work that displays a clear engagement with current debates and with methodological issues.
Animation Studies
Animation Studies is a peer-reviewed open access online journal for animation history and theory. It is the Society for Animation Studies’ journal, and publishes the society’s conference proceedings.
Bright Lights Film Journal
Bright Lights mixes "savvy pop reviews with in-depth analysis of current and classic, edgy and indie, international and experimental cinema – with wit and a political edge."
CINEJ Cinema Journal
CINEJ Cinema Journal is a peer-reviewed semiannually published international scholarly film studies journal based in USA. It is published by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh and is cosponsored by the University of Pittsburgh Press.
Cinema: Journal of Philosophy and the Moving Image
A refereed international publication, Cinema is particularly interested in philosophical approaches to the aesthetics of the moving image as well as in philosophical investigations on particular works and about the contexts in which these works are seen and produced.
CineMontage
CineMontage Magazine has a lineage of almost 40 years as the Journal of the Motion Picture Editors Guild, publishing stories about its members working in the many crafts of the post-production industry.
Film-Philosophy
Film-Philosophy is an open access peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy, exploring the ways in which films develop and contribute to philosophical discussion. The journal also provides a forum for the thoughtful re-evaluation of key aspects of both film studies and philosophy as academic disciplines.
Film Matters
Film Matters is a film magazine that celebrates the work of undergraduate film scholars. It is published three times a year, by students and for students, and each issue contains feature articles, as well as a reviews section. Film Matters feature submissions undergo a peer review process (typically managed by undergraduate film and media students).
Flow
Flow is a critical forum on media and culture published by the Department of Radio, Television, and Film at the University of Texas at Austin. Flow’s mission is to provide a space where scholars and the public can discuss media histories, media studies, and the changing landscape of contemporary media.
Images: A Journal of Film and Popular Culture
Images publishes articles about movies, television, videos, and other popular visual arts. Images is a quarterly journal, but adds new articles and reviews every week.
International Journal of Computer Games Technology
International Journal of Computer Games Technology is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes original research and review articles on both the research and development aspects of games technology covering the whole range of entertainment computing and interactive digital media.
KinoKultura
KinoKultura is a journal of contemporary Russian visual culture, especially cinema, that includes film reviews.
Mise-en-scène: The Journal of Film & Visual Narration
Mise-en-scène: The Journal of Film & Visual Narration (MSJ) specializes in scholarly works at the crossroads of film, media studies, and popular culture. A peer-reviewed publication, it is the official film studies journal of Kwantlen Polytechnic University.
Scope: an online journal of film and television studies
Scope is a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Department of Culture, Film and Media and Institute for Screen Industries Research at the University of Nottingham. Scope provides a forum for discussion of all aspects of film and television history, theory and criticism. [issues currently available: 1999 - 2014]
Screening the Past
Screening the Past is concerned with the history of photography, film, television and multimedia; the representation of history on/in these media; the role of these media in social history; and the history and development of critical and theoretical analysis in these areas.
Senses of Cinema
"Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. We believe cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work; we also aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms."
Wide Screen
Wide Screen is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the study of cinema, television, and new media. Every issue includes a range of work, from academic essays to film and book reviews, interviews, etc. [2009 - 2019]

Can't find what you want?

Can't find what you want?
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request items from other libraries.