What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are studies that are evaluated by experts prior to publication. Experts consider if the article meets certain criteria of originality and quality, recommending revisions that must be made as a condition for publication in an academic journal.
Check the Understanding Peer-Review guide for more information.
Start with the Discovery Search
Search tips
Search Tips
Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords. E.g.: elementary schools AND biology AND lesson plans
When doing your search, use nouns instead of a question. For example, instead of searching for "what writing exercises are appropriate for the motor development of grade 1 children?", search write exercises AND motor development AND children.
Use synonyms or related keywords to search for age groups or grades, separated by the operator OR. For example, elementary school OR grade 1 OR grade 2
When using synonyms, use advanced search or group the keywords using parenthesis (nested search). Example: childcare AND (toddlers OR infants OR young children).
Explore ERIC to find articles. Also try ERIC's thesaurus search (top left of the database). Learn more about the thesaurus search here.
Including keywords or using search filters that describe a specific age group can help you narrow results. Example: storytelling AND toddlers instead of storytelling AND children (children is more generic and will include results concerning various ages).
ERIC provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Social Sciences Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Elementary education & and other educational aspects
Primary SearchThis link opens in a new windowPrimary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Teacher Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Indigenous perspectives
Informit Indigenous CollectionThis link opens in a new windowCovers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. Provides access to specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, ebooks, and grey literature unavailable elsewhere online.
Canadian perspectives
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)This link opens in a new windowThis database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index QuarterlyThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
