What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are studies that are evaluated by experts prior to publication. Experts consider if the article meets certain criteria of originality and quality, recommending revisions that must be made as a condition for publication in an academic journal.
APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
ERIC provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Includes the DSM-5 Text Revision 2022 edition and 9 other titles, including DSM-5 Text Revision Clinical Cases and DSM-5 Text Revision Handbook of Differential Diagnosis.
Peer reviewed journal of broad interest concerning issues in subdisciplines of psychology, including social processes, developmental processes, psychopathology, neuroscience, or computational modeling.
Peer reviewed journal containing original empirical and theoretical research from a comparative perspective on the behavior, cognition, perception, and social relationships of diverse species.
Peer reviewed journal with studies of a variety of populations that have clinical interest, including but not limited to medical patients, ethnic minorities, persons with serious mental illness, and community samples.
Explore specific types of sources and use them as keywords in your search. Case studies, clinical trial, longitudinal study are all good keywords to use if you are searching for materials about a specific type of article.
Example: case study AND depression
Use advanced search in library databases to find information about a specific industry. Databases such as PshcINFO provide filters that allow you to refine your search to a specific company, product, or type of document.
Pre-prints
What are pre-prints?
A preprint is a draft of a research paper that has not yet been published in a peer-reviewed journal or conference proceeding. It is a way for researchers to quickly distribute new research results and receive early feedback from their peers.
