LibGuides: First Nations Studies: Find Books

Ebook databases

Ebsco Ebooks Collection This link opens in a new window Search and view academic ebooks
Needs an internet connection to view books. Full download is not available, but users may opt for downloading individual chapters or page intervals.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window The ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection (ACLS HEB) is a collaboration between the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), Michigan Publishing, and the Fulcrum publishing platform. The collection covers online over 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and related social sciences
Diversity & Ethnic Studies Ebooks This link opens in a new window This collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.

Internet Archive
A digital library of free and borrowable books. Search in the Open Library for a title and create a free account to borrow books.
Pressbooks
Find open access texts of anthologies, critical essays, and more.

ECHO: Ethnographic, Cultural and Historical Overview of Yukon's First Peoples by Victoria Castillo, Christine Schreyer, Tosh Southwick
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
Kwanlin Dün : dǎ kwǎndur ghày ghàkwadîndur = our story in our words
Call Number: E99 .T92 .K83 2020
ISBN: 9781773270784
Publication Date: 2020
Dä́kwändür Ghay Ghàkwädīndür—Our Story in Our Words tells the story of the peoples of the Kwanlin Dün First Nation, from thousands of years ago to the present day.
Our whole Gwich'in way of life has changed = Gwich'in k'yuu gwiidandài' tthak ejuk gòonlih : stories from the people of the land by Leslie McCartney, Gwich'in Tribal Council et al.
Call Number: E99 .K84 .M33 2020
ISBN: 9781772124828
Publication Date: 2020
An invaluable compilation of historical and cultural information. The stories of twenty-three Gwich’in Elders from the Northwest Territories communities of Fort McPherson, Tsiigehtshik, Inuvik, and Aklavik talk about the pleasures of living and travelling on the land.

There are no books on reserve at this time.

Can't find what you want?
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request items from other libraries.

Tips for searches & keywords

When searching for content related to indigenous studies, use synonyms/similar terms separated by OR, then use AND to combine with other keywords. Example: (indigenous people OR first nations OR aboriginal OR native americans) AND history
Use geographic locations, without abbreviations. E.g.: Yukon, Canada, British Columbia
Consider synonyms and related keywords when searching for specific populations. E.g.: gays OR homosexuals
Some popular keywords for the field of Anthropology & Archaeology: family, society, evolutionary anthropology, gender, ethnology, ethnography.