LibGuides: Truth and Reconciliation: Library Resources

Books to read from the Library Collection

Life Lived Like a Story by Julie Cruikshank
Call Number: E78.Y8 C7 1990

ISBN: 9780803214477

Publication Date: 1991

An autobiography of three Yukon First Nation women; Angela Sidney, Kitty Smith, and Annie Ned.
Finding Our Faces by Whitehorse Aboriginal Women's Circle
Call Number: E96.65.Y8 M53 2015

ISBN: 9780994775702

Publication Date: 2015
Uyid Ynji Tlaku by Kwanlin Dün First Nation
Publication Date: 2010

Dedication to Residential School survivors of the Yukon.
Kwanlin Dün: dǎ kwǎndur ghày ghàkwadîndur by Kwanlin Dün First Nation
Call Number: E99 .T92 .K83 2020

ISBN: 9781773270784

Publication Date: 2021

Dä´kwändür Ghay Ghàkwädindür--Our Story in Our Words tells the story of the peoples of the Kwanlin Dün First Nation, from thousands of years ago to the present day.
Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer
Call Number: E98.P5 K56 2013

ISBN: 9781571313355

Publication Date: 2013

An weaving of indigenous knowledge, plant science, and personal narrative from a distinguished professor of science and a Native American.
21 things you may not know about the Indian Act by Robert P. C. Joseph
ISBN: 0995266522

Publication Date: 2018

The essential guide to understanding the legal document and its repercussion on generations of Indigenous peoples.
The Education of Augie Merasty by Joseph Auguste (Augie) Merasty; David Carpenter (Contribution by)
Call Number: E96.5 .M47 2015

ISBN: 9780889773684

Publication Date: 2015

Offers a courageous and intimate chronicle of life in a residential school.
Tilly by Monique Gray Smith
Call Number: PS8613.R3894 T55

ISBN: 9781550392098

Publication Date: 2014

Loosely based on author Monique Gray Smith’s own life, this book tells the story of a young indigenous woman coming of age in the 1980s.
Indigenous Writes by Chelsea Vowel
ISBN: 9781553796848

Publication Date: 2016

An advocate for Indigenous worldviews, Chelsea Vowel discusses fundamental issues--the terminology of relationships; culture and identity; myth-busting; state violence; and land, learning, law and treaties--along with wider social beliefs about these issues.
Lhù'ààn Mân Keyí Dań Kwánje Nààtsat by Kluane First Nation
ISBN: 9781773272061

Publication Date: 2023-11-21

Final Report

Canada's Residential Schools: the History, Volume 1,Part 1, Origins To 1939 by Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
ISBN: 9781522804291

Publication Date: 2015
Canada's Residential Schools : the history, Volume 1,Part 2 ; 1939 to 2000 by Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
ISBN: 9780773598201

Publication Date: 2015
Canada's residential schools. Volume 2: the Inuit and Northern experience by Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
ISBN: 9780773598218

Publication Date: 2015
Canada's Residential Schools : the Métis experience by Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
ISBN: 9780773598232

Publication Date: 2015
Canada's Residential Schools : Missing children and unmarked burials by Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
ISBN: 9780773598256
Canada's Residential Schools : The legacy by Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
ISBN: 9780773598270

Publication Date: 2015
Canada's Residential Schools : Reconciliation by Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
ISBN: 9780773598294

Publication Date: 2015

Reconciliation at YukonU

Breaking the Dawn: Reconciliation Framework
In planning for reconciliation through re-education, this document draws from generations of Yukon First Nations pedagogical practices – prayer, story, song, weaving, dreaming – available in materials and recordings from, or prepared for, the Yukon Native Language Centre, Council of Yukon Indians (now Council of Yukon First Nations) and Yukon College (now Yukon University).

Related Library Guide

Indigenous Governance Guide

First Nations Studies
by Patricia Boleen Last Updated Sep 11, 2025 39 views this year

Databases

Ethnic Diversity Source
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
Diversity & Ethnic Studies Ebooks
This collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
Informit Core (formerly Informit Indigenous Collection)
Covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies.
Points to the Past
Points to the Past is a collection of primary sources, made up of digitized historical content – maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, and much more.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.

Caninuit
Most entries in the Caninuit database reference periodical publications which deal predominently with Canadian Inuit and their communities. Some entries describe library catalogues, indexes, bibliographies, and other sources of information about Inuit periodicals

Truth and Reconciliation: Library Resources

Land Aknowledgement

Films on Library Databases (Curio & AVON)

Twice Colonized

The Knowing

Twisted Histories

Truth & Reconciliation

Traditional Healing

Party Lines

Women of this land

Books to read from the Library Collection

Final Report

Reconciliation at YukonU

Related Library Guide

Databases