LibGuides: History: Find Articles

Finding peer-reviewed articles

What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are studies that are evaluated by experts prior to publication. Experts consider if the article meets certain criteria of originality and quality, recommending revisions that must be made as a condition for publication in an academic journal.

Check the Understanding Peer-Review guide for more information.

To search databases individually, start with:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

_________________________________________________________________________

Primary Sources

Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Points to the Past is a collection of primary sources, made up of digitized historical content – maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, and much more. Available for residents of British Columbia and Yukon.

Society, History & Culture

Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Points to the Past This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window

Salem Press - History

BC Historical Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window

Canadian Perspective

Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window

University of Alberta Libraries - The CIHM Monograph Collection

Indigenous Content

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Informit Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window

Arctic & Northern Research

Arctic & Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new window

Other Databases

Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Lens.org This link opens in a new window

Can't find what you want?
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request items from other libraries.