The SOVA Library also has a growing zine collection. Drop in to browse this collection.
Drawings on Geology by
Drawings on Geology is Dutch/French artist Serge Onnen's collection of black-and-white drawings based on the concept of the horizon. Onnen has drawn on works by artists from across history to the present, as well as on anonymous ephemera, to elaborate this theme. The artists included here are David Shrigley, Paul Noble, Mark Dion, MVRDV, Hans Broek, Sebastiaan Bremer, Matthew Monaham, Olav Westphalen, Robert Longo, Raymond Pettibon, Leonardo DaVinci, Satoru Eguchi, Le Corbusier, Daragh Reeves, Marla Bussmann, Ellen Harvey, Alice Smit, Ben Polsky, Mathilde ter Heijne, Seurat, Paul Nassenstein, Toba Kedoori, Hannes Kater, Serge Onnen, Karl Friedrich Schinkel, Aam Solleveld, Carlos Roque, Caspar David Friederich, Albrecht D rer, Arnoud Holleman, Napoleon Bonaparte, William Wegman, Christine Rusch, Grandville, Pope sixtus, Roy McMakin, Marc Smeets, Geert Dekkers and others.
Hans-Ulrich Obrist Hear Us by
In her Foreword to the publication, Dannys Montes de Oca Moreda recognizes that the after-effect of Burns' work is deeply disillusioning, breaking up and foreclosing the harmonious unity of identity, micro and macrocosmic alike. Curator and art historian Dan Adler draws attention to the intrinsic satire informing Burns' work: a fondness for revering the meaningless while casting doubt on the venerable. Lastly, art critic Jennifer Allen uncovers some of the forces at work within Burns' narrativisation of his personal life and reflection on his role as an artist, asserting that the act of forgetting is structural to Burns' overall narrative composition. Hans-Ulrich Obrist Hear Us also includes a first-person narrative by Burns, telling the story of his life through episodes that, although seemingly incongruous, have played a formative role in the development of the artist's career. This history, like memory, is less contiguous than spontaneous, more preoccupied with prophecies and mood swings than the sterileness of factuality.
Multiple Elementary by
Multiple Elementary explores the elementary school classroom as a site of invention and reception of contemporary art practices. Part exhibition catalogue, part artists' book and part corner store advertisement, the book reflects on the making of an artwork by Hannah Jickling and Helen Reed, in collaboration with a class of grade six students in Toronto. Begun as a riff on the Ontario social studies curriculum "Canada and It's Trading Partners", the engagement with students evolved as a series of field trips, extended research and finally, the making of 28 chocolates, each as an edition of ten. Explorations of trade, exchange and labour took shape as exercises in public engagement, curatorial experimentation and institutional translation. Beyond socially engaged practices and expressions of art-as-pedagogy, this book explores aesthetic and representative possibilities for process-based and publicly oriented artworks, especially amidst the complications and contradictions inherent to collaborations with children.
Shuffle by
For this project, a limited-edition boxed card set, "Shuffle," Christian Marclay photographed the appearance of musical notation in his everyday wanderings--finding examples on shop awnings, chocolate tins, T-shirts, underwear and other unexpected places. Each of the 75 images collected here is presented on an oversized playing card, and the entire deck is enclosed in a distinctive package.
Tree of Codes by
A masterful work of storytelling, a unique sculptural object created through a collaborative process between Visual Editions and author. A curiosity with the die-cut technique was combined with the pages' physical relationship to one another and how this could somehow be developed to work with a meaningful narrative. This led to Jonathan deciding to use an existing piece of text and cut a new story out of it - his favourite book, The Street of Crocodiles by Bruno Schulz. Writing, cutting and proto-typing has created a new story cut from the words of an old favourite.
| topic | call number |
| Visual Arts | N |
| Architecture | NA |
| Sculpture | NB |
| Drawing, Design, Illustration | NC |
| Painting | ND |
| Print Media | NE |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Arts in General (includes sound art) | NX |
| Photography | TR |
| Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts | TT |
| additional topics | call number |
| History of the Americas (includes materials related to Indigenous art) | E - F |
| Anthropology (includes materials related to Indigenous art) | GN |
| Interactive Multimedia | LB1028.55 |
| Literature on Music | ML1-3930 |
| Communication, Mass Media | P87-96 |
| Motion Pictues | PN1993-1999 |
| Mathematics (includes digital art and new media art) | QA |
| Telecommunication (radio and television) | TK5101-6720 |