LibGuides: Art: find articles

key databases

Art Index This link opens in a new window
Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly This link opens in a new window
This database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.

Can't find what you want?

Can't find what you want?
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request items from other libraries.

art periodicals at the SOVA Library

Artforum International Magazine

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Sept. 2007 to present

Border Crossings

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Aug. 2007 to present

C Magazine

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Winter 2007 to present

Canadian Art

print holdings at Yukon SOVA: Summer 2007 to present

keyword searching

Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords.
When searching for art-related content, use quotations for a phrase search. Use synonyms/related terms separated by OR, then use AND to combine with other keywords.
example: installation AND "sound art"
example: ("performance art" OR "video art") AND "the body"
Use geographic locations, without abbreviations. E.g.: Yukon, Canada, British Columbia (not BC)

Art: find articles

Finding peer-reviewed articles

key databases

Can't find what you want?

art periodicals at the SOVA Library

keyword searching