LibGuides: Trades and Technology: Home

Start a search here

Recommended Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore, produced by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1884, and all current IEEE Standards.
Applied Science & Technology Source (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology source offers coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines, with full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.

Tips for searches & keywords

Tips for searches & keywords

When searching for content related to the trades, use synonyms/similar terms separated by OR, then use AND to combine with other keywords. Example: (automotive OR vehicle) AND service
Use geographic locations, without abbreviations. E.g.: Yukon, Canada, British Columbia
Consider synonyms and related keywords when searching for specific populations. E.g.: woodworking OR cabinetry

Autonomous vehicles Adaptive control

Cognitive/agile/software defined radios Collision avoidances

Embedded systems Global positioning system / GPS

Hybrid/electric vehicles Mechatronics

MEMS Sensor networks / remote sensing

Off Campus Access

Off campus access to library resources is provided through EZProxy. Once authenticated, your computer appears as a part of the Yukon University network.

If you are on campus, you will bypass EZProxy and be sent directly to Yukon University library resources.

If you are off campus, you will see an authentication page after you search and access an online resource. Click the button labelled 'STUDENTS & STAFF LOGIN' and use your Yukon University username and password.

Industry and Market Research

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Database containing bibliographic and full-text content of important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886.