LibGuides: Biology: Find Articles

Start with

What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are studies that are evaluated by experts prior to publication. Experts consider if the article meets certain criteria of originality and quality, recommending revisions that must be made as a condition for publication in an academic journal.
Several of the databases suggested below contain peer-reviewed articles.

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database, including both peer-reviewed content and content from popular magazines and trade publications.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary collection of databases, including peer-reviewed content about various topics. YukonU has access to 15 JSTOR collections in the arts & sciences areas.
Birds of the World
Provides detailed scientific information (species accounts) for over 10,000 species of birds around the world. Resource is a compilation of four major ornithological works, bird observation data, and resources from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. Collection contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. Each online species account contains recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.
Geobase
GEOBASE is a database of indexed research covering relevant international geoscience and geography literature, with an emphasis on human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and international development studies/impacts.

Make use of Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords.
Use geographic locations in your searches, without abbreviations. E.g.: Yukon, Canada, British Columbia (not BC)
Consider synonyms and related keywords when searching for specific populations. E.g.: animals OR fauna; plants OR flora
When searching health related topics in databases such as CINAHL or Medline, use the subject headings and thesaurus to discover other keywords you can use in your search. More information from this tutorial.

Identify different types of sources

Human physiology & health

Anatomy.TV Access interactive anatomy and physiology resources, including 3D Real-time and Perceptual Adaptive Learning Modules (PALMs).
APA PsycArticles APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycInfo The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides nearly 900 full text journals, including nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications, covering virtually all areas of medical study. Journals available in full text in Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.
CINAHL CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (Chochrane Library) Evidence-based medicine (EBM) articles are a important source of medical information based on actual treatments and methods. This database combines several of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database. Includes reviews from Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and Chochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Lens.org Lens.org is a repository for scholarly and patent research. Includes information for a wide range of topics.
LWW Total Access Collection 2022 with Neurology This database includes highly respected titles, from essential core journals to specialized resources in such areas as nursing and bioscience.
Medline from OVID Use more Medline search options with the OVID interface. Access articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and other health related fields, on a simple interface.
MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebscohost) MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.

Biology & Sciences citation databases

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) Biological & Agricultural Index Plus™ provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
GreenFILE GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
Applied Science & Technology Source (H.W. Wilson) Applied Science & Technology source offers coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines, with full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles.
General Science Abstracts General Science Abstracts™ provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating as far back as 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.

Canadian & Arctic research

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) This database is a longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, the Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly This database provides the most-requested Canadian reference information available. It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
Arctic & Antarctic Regions Arctic & Antarctic Regions (AAR) is the world’s largest collection of international polar databases. Over 1.3 million records (most with abstracts or annotations) from 12 databases files provides access to valuable research on cold regions, spanning from 1800 and earlier to the present.
Open Polar Open Polar is the global open access portal for research data and publications on the Arctic and Antarctic.
Arctic Discovery & Access (formerly ASTIS) ADA (Arctic Discovery & Access) provides access to scientific research publications, research projects derived from license and permit information, K-12 educational resources, virtual exhibits, and the Arctic Institute of North America's online archives and special collections.

Find Yukon species data

Yukon University Herbarium (North American Network of Small Herbaria) To access the YukonU Herbarium collection: 1. Select/Deselect all collections 2. Select YUKONU 3. Search Small herbaria constitute a major source of information for understanding North America's plant diversity. The North American Network of Small Herbaria is an open access data portal provided by Symbiota and intended to foster digitization of small collections and facilitate collaboration among institutions. YukonU is also part of this project: the Yukon University Herbarium (global identifier: YUKONU) captures Yukon plant biodiversity from the 1960s onward.

Encyclopedia articles

Encyclopedia Britannica An updated, online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica that provides trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights .
Salem Press Salem Press provides access to encyclopedia articles curated by expert. See content related to climate change, natural disasters, and biomes and ecosystems.

Top journals in Biology

According to Scimago Journal Rankings (based on Scopus). All journals available from YukonU Library or open access. Embargo periods may apply.

Other recommended publications

Scientific American
Alternatives Journal
Alternatives Journal (home page)
Environmental Reviews
New Scientist
Green Teacher
Library has up to 2013
Science
6 years embargo applies. Library has recent paper volumes.
Ecopsychology
The Canadian Field Naturalist

Can't find what you want?

Can't find what you want?
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request items from other libraries.